Savannah Accepting CharterIt was quite the unusual Lions Day at TSB this year! As the 9:00 a.m. annual gathering began to commence on December 8th, one could sense that as special as these gatherings always are, this day might be one for the ages. An extra excitement was in the air as Lions and Leo Club members surrounded the students moving into the auditorium. Down front, in place of the usual single podium on the main floor, the podium was on the stage flanked by a presenter’s table on either side. Eight name tags lined the front of the tables designating guest seating. When Past District Governor (PDG) Ralph Brewer began
his opening remarks the secret was out of the bag. Not only were the Lions celebrating the 60th year of spreading love and holiday cheer to TSB students with generous gifts, there was more. The Lions were also gathering to officially birth a Leo Club at TSB. This momentous occasion just happened to also be 60 years after the formation of the very first Leo Club. After the pledge, welcoming remarks, introductions, and music, TSB students anxious to be part of the club were introduced. Their induction into the club was led by PDG Lelia Gibson. This was followed by the introduction and induction of the club’s leaders by District Governor (DG) Mark Kassing.Leo Officers
Those chosen for officer positions were: Savannah Copthtorne (President),  Madison Alvarnaz (Vice President), Anthony Bonetti (Secretary), Brian Rock (Treasurer). Presentation of the club charter was made by Immediate Past International President (IPIP) Chancellor Bob Corlew and accepted by TSB Leo Club President Savannah Copithorne. Following congratulatory comments by Sponsoring Club Advisor 1VDG Paul Murray and gifts presented by President of the Donelson Lions Club, Lion JoAnne Weatherall, plans for the future of the club were revealed. TSB Faculty Sponsor, Lion Arthur Humphrey, spoke of one of the club’s first projects, the painting and placement of rocks forming the initials TSB placed into cement.TSB Rocks in Cement Arthur reinforced the appropriateness of this project “because TSB rocks!” As he reemphasized this thought time and again , the Lions and Leos roared with approval!
TSB Leo Club members are Savannah Copithorne, Madison Alvarnaz, Brian Rock, Anthony Bonnetti, Austin Rogers, Donnie Sands, TaMyah Jordan, Parker Delph, Savannah Eubanks, Avery Mayberry, Leah Mayberry, Emily Sutton, Danni White, Yenice Olivares, Sydney Little, Miranda Bennet-Graham, Maliyah Green, Adam Carpenter, Kevin Giron, Isis Noneman, Letarian Smith, and Tedarrel Brooks.